Celebrating Dad…

dadMy dad is a man of few words, but his unconditional love for his wife and children speaks volume.

Growing up, my dad didn’t pamper my brothers and I with presents. He taught us that if we wanted something, we have to work hard for it. Of course, when I was much younger, I would envy my friends who have beautiful dolls, toys, cool gadgets etc. But as I get older, I gradually understood why my dad brought us up that way. My brothers and I grew up to be humble and self-reliant.

My dad, he’s always the silent giver in the family. Even though he doesn’t like the idea of spending money on material goods, he is the most generous in the family. I remember when I was 10, I was mesmerized by the piano and soon after, my dad surprised me with one (a piano was really expensive back then). That was the one and biggest present my dad got me when I was a little girl.

After my Diploma studies, I knew I wanted to move on to an undergraduate program. I was pretty adamant. But because I was 28, my parents preferred me working than spending another 2 years in school. However they said I could pursue my studies if I am able to secure a scholarship. On the day of my scholarship interview, my dad sent me a text. He asked me how it went, and I told him I don’t think I stood a chance. And he said “If you can’t get the scholarship, don’t worry, I will pay for your studies. Go ahead and submit your application.” I remember sitting in my room crying like a baby when I read his reply. With God’s grace, I did secure the scholarship. And the rest is history.

I can say so much more, but words can never suffice what I feel.

Dad, even though I seemed busy living my life, I want you to know that I have not forgotten all the sacrifices that you have made for me. And when that day comes, I will share with my children all the great stories of how selfless and loving their grandfather is.

Happy Father’s Day, Dad. You will always be my first love. :)

Leave a Reply

